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CASE NO. JP1-  ____________   TR / CR 

STATE OF TEXAS          IN THE JUSTICE COURT 
vs.           PRECINCT 1 

 WINKLER COUNTY, TEXAS 
__________________________________ 
Defendant 

AFFIDAVIT for Driving Safety Course / Motorcycle Operator Course - CCP 45.0511(b) (2) and (3) 

Before me, the undersigned Justice Court clerk in and for the County of Winkler, State of Texas, on this day personally appeared the undersigned 
affiant, and who after being by me duly sworn, deposes and says: 

(Initial) _______ I hereby waive my right to a jury trial and legal counsel and have entered a plea of (circle one) guilty or no contest.  If I decide not 
to take the Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course within the prescribed time, the total fine will be due. 

(Initial) _______ I hold a valid Texas Drivers License and have evidence of financial responsibility (Insurance coverage). 

(Initial) ________ I have not completed an approved Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course within 12 months presiding the date of 
this offense. I am not currently signed up to take a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course for any other traffic citations which is not yet 
reflected on my driving record. 

(Initial) ________ I understand that I have 90 calendar days from today’s date to complete the approved Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle
Operator Course; additionally: I am responsible for returning to this Court with written proof showing that I have completed the approved Driving 
Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course and I hereby promise to present such proof by mail or in person no later than 90 calendar days
from today’s date. 

(Initial) ________ I understand that I am required to obtain my driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety and return the driving 
record to the Court with the uniformed certificate of completion of the Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course. 

(Initial) ________ I understand that if I fail to comply with the 90-day provision, I will be required to appear in the Court to Show Cause why I have
failed to furnish proof of successful completion of the Driving Safety Course or Motor cycle Operator Course & if I failed to appear a Capias Pro-
Fine Warrant will be issued out for my arrest. I further understand that my case WILL NOT BE DISMISSED until the Court receives all the 
following: 

1. This Affidavit
2. Original uniformed certificate of completion from an approved Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator course showing it was 

completed BEFORE the 90-day due date for courts: JP 1
3. Certified driving record, type 3A from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
4. Copy of valid Insurance coverage.
5. Paid $110.00 fee/costs for the court fee and court costs.

(Initial) _______ I understand when I have completed the above conditions and have returned proof thereof, the Court will dismiss my traffic citation 
and the violation will not appeared on my driving record, and that it will be noted on my driving record that I have completed the Driving Safety 
Course or Motorcycle Operator Course. 

(Initial) _______ I understand that the State approved Driving school will charge a fee for the Driving Safety course or the Motorcycle Operator 
course.  

(Initial) _______ I understand that the Court fee/costs is non-refundable, whether or not I complete the Driving Safety course or Motorcycle 
Operator Course.  

Subscribed and sworn to before me, this 

_________________________________________ ______Day Of___________________, 
Affiant (Signature)                       Date  

__________________________________________   _________________________________________ 
Date of Birth                              TX DL  Justice Court Clerk/Notary Public 

____________________________________________________________
Current Address     City/Sate/Zip Code 

____________________________ 
Phone Number 

YOUR DEADLINE IS _________, 20___ 
-NO EXTENSIONS- 

Or pay the fine amount of
$ ______. 
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You may be eligible to require that a charge be dismissed by successfully completing a Driving Safety Course or a 
Motorcycle Operator Training Course or a Specialized Driving Safety Course. 
   
You will lose the right if you do not provide the court with written notice of your request to take the course on or before your 
appearance date. 
 

ELIGIBILITY  
You are NOT eligible for this option if you circle Y for YES to any of the following questions: 
Y N 1. Do you hold a commercial driver’s license?  
Y N 2. Did you take a driving safety or a motorcycle operator training or specialized driving safety course within the 12 

months preceding the date of this offense? 
Y N 3. Did the offense occur in a Construction or Maintenance Work Zone while workers were present? 
Y N 4. Were you speeding 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit? 
Y N 5.  Is your ticket for an offense other than a moving traffic violation? 
Y N 6. Were you cited for passing a school bus? 
Y N 7. Were you cited for not having valid liability insurance or a valid Texas Driver’s License? 
Y N 8. Were you charged with a violation of a state law related to motor vehicle traffic control, including a law               

regulating the operation of vehicles on highways, arising in connection with a fatal accident, i.e., improper or erratic traffic 
lane change or following the vehicle ahead too closely? 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

Taking a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course or Specialized Driving Safety Course 
 
You must return the following CHECKED documents in person or send by certified mail, return receipt requested: 
 
ORIGINAL AFFIDAVIT FORM 
�  1.  Read, complete, sign, and date the Affidavit form, and bring it in person to this court, or send it by certified mail, 
return receipt requested.  You must sign the form before a notary public and it must be notarized.   

 
Original Driving Safety Course Certificate of Completion or Motorcycle Operator Training Course Verification of 
Completion 
Note: A violation for No Seat Belt of a passenger 5 years or younger will require the Specialized Driving Safety Course Completion 
�  2.  To be accepted, the Course Certificate of Completion (consult yellow pages for State Approved Courses) MUST indicate 
“COURT COPY” in the upper right hand corner and “Keri Jones PCT 1  Winkler County” under COURT in the bottom left 
hand corner.  The Course must be taken in Texas and before the 90th day indicated on the Affidavit. 
 
Original certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety  Website: www.dps.texas.gov 
�  3.  To obtain a certified copy of your driving record, complete the Application for Copy of Driver Record (DR1 form) and mail 
it, along with $10.00, to the address listed at the top of the form as soon as possible.  Be sure to indicate your correct 
mailing address to ensure that you receive a certified copy of your driving record. 
 
COPY OF INSURANCE COVERAGE 
�  4.  Send a copy of your Insurance (Proof of Financial Responsibility). 
 

 
 

ALL DOCUMENTS/ITEMS LISTED ABOVE must be returned to this office 
Between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday 

 
Judge Keri Jones, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1 

100 E Winkler St., Winkler County Courthouse, Kermit, Texas 79745 
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